Prestatyn Running Club | Super Vets Are Team of The Year

News Archive

Super Vets Are Team of The Year

Published In PRC News

Another week, another batch of honours for members of Prestatyn Running Club.

The difference this time, however, is that the recognition has come for a series of performances over the past weeks and months.

During the past 12 months the club’s super-vets have travelled far and wide to compete against the country’s top masters and come away with a clutch of medals. Their successes on road and country saw them win the trophy for Team of the Year at this year’s Denbighshire Community Sports Awards ceremony, held last week at Llangollen’s International Pavilion.

The six athletes who attended, members of the M65 and M75 teams, were Mike Davis, Gareth Hughes, Ronald Harrison-Jones, Roger Harrison-Jones, Dave Hughes and John Hickman.

PRC (Super Vets) Team of The Year

CAPTION: Prestatyn Running Club’s Supervets with their Team of the Year trophy. They are (left to right) Roger Harrison-Jones, Ronald Harrison-Jones, Mike Davis, Gareth Hughes, Dave Hughes and John Hickman.

The other honours come in the form of selection for the North Wales squad for the Welsh inter-regional cross-country championships at Brecon on December.

Some of the age-groups are yet to be finalised but among those named so far are Andrew Bromley, Dean Longley (senior men), Steve Skates (M35), Amie Bagnall (senior ladies), Helen Ashworth (L35), Sue Rodgers, Gabby Jones (L55).

Despite far from ideal conditions six members chalked up pbs in Parkruns on Saturday. In Wepre, Connah’s Quay, Steve Stocker finished sixth overall and second M40 with a time of 21.08, while Claire Atterbury took another minute off her best in 35.13.

At Conwy Amie Bagnall was third lady home in 20.23, the same time as partner Matty Smith, who was 18th overall. Other placings were: 33 Callum 21.52, 35 Nigel Bakewell 22.06 (pb), 46 Steve Weedman 22.59 (pb), 79 Leon McKenna 25.04, 102 Roger Harrison-Jones n27.06 (pb), 106 Emma Fairhurst 27.17 (pb), 108 Julia Evans 27.26 (pb), 135 Debbie Weedman 29.57.

Some of the club’s ladies travelled to Knutsford for the Tatton 10k. Among their results were: Helen Baxandall 60.12, Karen Bancroft 65.43, Pat Goodwin 65.48, Suzanne Evans 68.45, Lesley Furneaux 69.34, Julie Evans 69.39, Diane Bancroft 73.49.

Over 30 members took part in the club’s annual 10-pin bowling evening at the Ffrith Complex, with club chairman Gareth White retaining his title. Jenna Bagnall was the winning lady and the booby prize went to Julia Evans, who at least had some compensation with her pb the following day.

This weekend Steve Skates makes his Wales debut in the British and Irish Masters’ Cross-Country International in Derry and Roger Harrison-Jones and Dave Hughes are travelling as reserves for the M75 team.

Leave a comment