Prestatyn Running Club | PRC Weekly News 18-03-2018

News Archive

PRC Weekly News 18-03-2018

Published In PRC News

After the successes of the past 12 months it was little surprise that the mood at Prestatyn Running Club’s annual meeting was even more celebratory than usual.

On road, country and fells there have been numerous individual and team awards and what was particularly pleasing was the age range of the successful athletes.

Chairman Gareth White summarised the achievements and thanked all those who had played a part, while captains Wyn Roberts, Dean Longley and Ally Reid highlighted some of the outstanding results.

Tickets are now available for the annual social and prizegiving at Melyd Golf Club on April 14. The nominees are:- Most Improved Lady: Clair Atterbury, Sian Beck, Jenna Bagnall, Amie Bagnall, Julia Evans and Emma Fairhurst. Most Improved Male: Leon Bagnall, James Rogers, Matty Smith, Nigel Bakewell and Gary Johnson. Volunteer of the Year: Alun Parry, Katie Dawson, Mike Davis, Eva Brewr, Duncan Longley, Gareth White. Female Fellrunner of the Year: Clair Atterbury, Helen Ashworth, Jo Hoppes. Male Fellruner of the Year: Steve Skates, Wyn Roberts, Rob Alexander, James Rogers. F emale Roadrunner of the Year: Ally Reid, Amie Bagnall, Siuan Beck, Clair Manley, Jenna Bagnall, Helen Ashworth. Male Roadrunner of the Year: Steve Skates, Andy Bromley, Matty Smith, James Rogers, Roger Harrison-Jones, John Hickman, Mike Davis. Female Cross-country Runner of the Year: Clair Manley, Emma Fairhurst, Amie Bagnall, Helen Ashworth, Sue Rodgers, Jenna Bagnall, Lois Lee, Jo Hoppes. Male Cross-country Runner of the Year: Steve Skates, Gareth Hughes, Rob Alexander, George Nixon, Andy Bromley, Matty Smith, John Hickman, Roger Harrison-Jones. New Member of the Year: Steve Weedman, Clair Atterbury, Suzanne Evans, Andy Bromley, James Rogers, Julie Evans, Lois Lee, Debbie Cartwright.

The Conwy Parkrun once again ended in a 1-2 for the club, with second-claim member Steve Forsyth, who was second to Steve Skates, taking first place this weekend. Only six seconds behind in a new pb was Andy Bromley.

With the 10-week beginners’ programme having ended last week some of the “graduates” put their new-found endurance to the test at Conwy and there were several fine results.

A total of 22 members turned out, with 11 of them producing pbs. The placings were: 1 Steve Forsyth 17.30, 2 Andy Bromley 17.36 (pb), 76 Katherine Prestwich 26.28 (pb), 81 Mike Davis 26.38, 84 Liam Martin 26.47, 85 Liz Martin 26.47, 90 Emma Fairhurst 26.59 (pb), 99 Martin Gill 27.31 (pb), 104 Clair Atterbury27.39 (pb), 105 Sandra Bickerstaff 27.40 (pb), 107 Roger Harrison-Jones, 113 Sarah Anderson 28.41 (pb), 138 Andy Clark 30.41 (pb), 152 Gigi Jeavons 31.33, 156 Cara Jones 32.09 (pb), 184 Alex White 34.40, 185 Gareth White 34.40, 188 Tracy Worthington 35.09 (pb), 189 Debbie Tierney 35.27, 203 Jinny Tilston 36.47 (pb), 204 Duncan Longley 36.47, 205 Julie Evans 36.57.

In last week’s Wrexham marathon Gareth Roberts managed to take five minutes off his pb, finishing in 3:50. The previous day his wife Ann-Marie took on the mud and hills of the Loggerheads Trail 10k, clocking 66.33.

Leave a comment